Call for Nominations: WMF / Knoll Modernism Prize
15th July 2016, World Monuments Fund and Knoll
DATE: 15/7/2016
Until 15th July 2016, the World Monuments Fund is accepting nomitation submissions for the 2016 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize. Online form available here. In 2014, the Prize was awarded to the Finnish Committee for the Restoration of Viipuri Library. 

"The World Monuments Fund/Knoll Modernism Prize is awarded biennially to a design professional or firm in recognition of an innovative architectural or design solution that has preserved a modern building or group of buildings.
The Prize is part of WMF´s Modernism at Risk initiative that addresses the challenges faced by modern sites through advocacy, education, and conservation."

The recipient of the 2016 World Monuments Fund/Knoll Prize will receive the award at a public event at The Museum of Modern Art in New York in the fall of 2016 (exact date to be confirmed). The recipient will also be invited to join a celebratory dinner with the jury and select guests.

The award includes:
A cash honorarium of $10,000;
A Knoll® Barcelona® chair;
Round-trip airfare and hotel accommodations to attend the prize presentation and jury dinner.


An independent jury of architectural scholars, conservators, and professionals in related fields will select the prize winner. The jury will be chaired by Barry Bergdoll, Curator, Department of Architecture and Design, MoMA.

Nominated projects must have been completed in the last five years. Projects that enhanced a site’s architectural, functional, economic, and environmental sustainability while also benefiting the community are encouraged."

More details: website.